Theron stars in South Africa's win over Pakistan

Last Updated 28 October 2010, 17:21 IST

 26-year-old Theron bowled with purpose as South Africa once again restricted the former World Twenty20 champions to a low score of 120-9 on a flat Abu Dhabi cricket Stadium for a second day in succession yesterday.

South Africa won the first match by the same margin on Tuesday.Graeme Smith (38) and Colin Ingram (31) led the South African reply with Jean-Paul Duminy (19 not out) hitting the winning runs to complete the team's chase with eight balls to spare.

Smith and Loots Bosman (11) gave South Africa a sound start of 38 before Bosman fell to Shahid Afridi. AB de Villiers and Smith took the score to 63 when Pakistan took two quick wickets.

Smith and De Villers fell in quick succession, but Duminy and Ingram added 41 for the fourth wicket, batting with guts and application as Pakistani spinners failed to extract any life out of the track.

Ingram hit four boundaries and a six during his robust 17-ball innings.Earlier, Theron (4-27) built on some early knocks by fellow fast bowler Lonwabo Tsotsobe (2-20) to stop Pakistan from posting a fighting total for a second day in succession.

Only Misbah-ul-Haq, who top scored with 27 in the first match, survived the effective South African bowling, with a resolute 38-ball 33, hitting two boundaries and a six.
It was Haq who gave Pakistan's total some respectability through a 45-run sixth wicket stand with Abdul Razzaq (25) after Pakistan lost half of its side for a paltry 39 inside eight overs.

Tsotsobe, who took 3-16 to restrict Pakistan to 119 on Tuesday, once again removed both the openers Shahzaib Hasan (six) and Imran Farhat (nine) to give South Africa an ideal start after their opponents won the toss and elected to bat.

Theron then took charge as he removed Pakistan skipper Shahid Afridi (three) before dismissing Haq and Umar Gul off successive deliveries. He finished his spell by bowling Zulqarnain Haider (17) off the last ball of the innings.The two teams now play the first of five one-day internationals here on Friday.


Shahzaib Hasan      c Botha b Tsotsobe     9
Imran Farhat                b Tsotsobe     9
Mohammad Hafeez             b M Morkel    14
Misbah-ul-Haq    c A Morkel b Theron      33
Umar Akmal                    run out      5
Shahid Afridi       c Smith b Theron       3
Abdul Razzaq       c Theron b A Morkel    25
Zulqarnain Haider           b Theron      17
Umar Gul                    b Theron       0
Saeed Ajmal                   not out      1
Extras: (LB-3, W-4)                        7
TOTAL: (for nine wickets, 20 overs)      120
Fall of wickets: 1-9, 2-29, 3-29, 4-36, 5-39, 6-84, 7-119, 8-119, 9-120
Bowling: Albie Morkel 4-0-31-1, Lonwabo Tsotsobe 4-0-20-2, Morne Morkel 4-1-22-1, Johan Botha 4-0-17-0, Rusty Theron 4-0-27-4.
South Africa
Graeme Smith      st Haider b Ajmal    38
Loots Bosman            lbw b Afridi   11
AB de Villiers     c Farhat b Hafeez   11
JP Duminy                     not out  20
Colin Ingram      c U Akmal b Akhtar   31
David Miller                  not out   6
Extras: (LB-2, W-6)                     8
TOTAL: (for four wickets, 18.4 overs) 125
Fall of wickets: 1-38, 2-63, 3-68, 4-109
Bowling: Shoaib Akhtar 4-0-36-1, Umar Gul 3.4-0-32-0, Mohammed Hazeez 4-0-19-1, Shahid Afridi 4-0-13-0, Saeed Ajmal 3-0-23-1.

(Published 28 October 2010, 04:03 IST)

Follow us on