10 coalition MLAs give the joint session a skip

10 coalition MLAs give the joint session a skip

Bengaluru, dhns: Nearly 10 ruling party MLAs have absented themselves from the joint session. As expected four disgruntled MLAs - Ramesh Jarkiholi (Gokak), Umesh G Jadhav (Chincholi), B Nagendra (Bellary), Mahesh Kumathalli (Athani) - who have all been issued show cause notices by the Congress - did not attend the session.

Kampli MLA J N Ganesh, who is facing attempt-to-murder charges for attacking Vijayanagar MLA Anand Singh, too gave the session a skip. The police are yet to arrest the MLA.

Other Congress MLAs like Roshan Baig (Shivajinagar) and Sowmya Reddy (Jayanagar) too did not attend the session.

Both MLAs are upset with the party. While Baig is a ministerial aspirant, Sowmya is irked with the party for not making her father and former minister Ramalinga Reddy a minister.

The duo are in New Delhi to participate in party conventions. Hirekerur MLA B C Patil, who has been vocal about his disgruntlement, too gave the first day of the session a miss. Harihar MLA S Ramappa too absented himself from the joint session.

JD(S) MLA Narayan Gowda (KR Pet) was among the absentee MLAs. JD(S) Minister C S Puttaraju said that the MLA was unwell.

Two Independent MLAs H Nagesh (Mulbagal) and R Shankar (Ranebennur), who have withdrawn support to the government, too were not to be seen.