Bypoll: CM not to campaign for Congress candidates

Bypoll: CM not to campaign for Congress candidates

Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy. PTI file photo.

Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy will not campaign for candidates fielded by his alliance partner Congress in the Bellary (Lok Sabha) and Jamkhandi (Assembly) constituencies for the November 3 bypoll, according to sources.

Kumaraswamy will camp in Shivamogga district between October 28 to October 31, according to the tour itinerary released by the Chief Minister’s Office. The JD(S) has fielded Madhu Bangarappa as its candidate in the Shimoga Lok Sabha constituency. Kumaraswamy is also likely to campaign for JD(S) candidate L R Shivaramegowda in Mandya Lok Sabha constituency.

According to sources, Kumaraswamy is not keen on campaigning for V S Ugrappa, the Congress candidate from Bellary Lok Sabha segment. Apparently, Kumaraswamy is miffed with Ugrappa for having used harsh words while criticising him in the past.

However, it is said that JD(S) supremo H D Deve Gowda is likely to campaign for Ugrappa in Bellary and Anand Nyamagouda in Jamkhandi.