Chiefs to boards, corpns: CM overrules Cong names

Chiefs to boards, corpns: CM overrules Cong names

Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy on Sunday signed orders for the appointment of Congress legislators to various statutory boards/corporations, but left out five key recommendations made by the grand old party.

The move is likely to heighten the discord between the coalition partners. The Congress had recommended 19 legislators to boards and corporations and 9 members to be appointed as parliamentary secretaries on December 22.

However, Kumaraswamy had not signed the orders upset that the Congress had recommended its nominees for boards and corporations coming under the departments controlled by the JD(S) ministers.

The Congress had recommended its MLA T Venkataramaiah as chairperson of Karnataka Road Development Corporation and N A Haris as chairperson of Metropolitan Transport Corporation which come under the Transport department controlled by the JD(S). In the orders signed by Kumaraswamy, these two names have not been approved.

Besides, the recommendations made by the Congress - S N Subbareddy as chairperson of Karnataka Silk Industries Corporation, S T Somashekar as Bengaluru Development Authority Chairman and K Sudhakar as Karnataka State Pollution Control Board Chairman – too have not been approved by the chief minister.

Kumaraswamy’s brother and PWD Minister H D Revanna was keen that these positions go to his candidates. Deputy Chief Minister G Parameshwara was also not keen that S T Somashekhar get the post of BDA chairman. The duo share a personal rivalry. The chief minister approved the recommendations made by the Congress that its legislators Anjali Nimbalkar, Mahantesh S Koujalagi, Roopa Shashidhar, Raghavendra K Hitnal,  Durgappa Hulageri (all MLAs), A Abdul Jabbar, Ivan D’Souza, K Govindraj (all MLCs), be appointed as parliamentary secretaries.

B K Sangameshwar - Karnataka Land Army Corporation

Narendra R - Karnataka Food and Civil Supplies Corporation

B Narayan Rao - Karnataka Forest Development Corporation

Umesh G Jadhav - Karnataka State Warehousing Corporation

T Raghu Murthy - Hutti Gold Mines Ltd

Yashwanthraygoud V Patil - Karnataka Urban Water Supply and Drainage Board

B A Basavaraj - Karnataka Soaps and Detergents Ltd

B Shivanna - Keonics

Narayanswamy S N - Dr B R Ambedkar Development Corporation

Munirathna - Karnataka Skill Development Corporation

Shivaram M Hebbar - North Western Karnataka Road Transport Corporation

B S Suresh - Karnataka State Small Industries Development Corporation

Laxmi Hebbalkar - Mysore Minerals Ltd

T D Rajegowda - Malnad Area Development Authority