23 tableaux, 42 cultural troupes to be part of Jamboo Savari

A total of 23 tableaux and 42 cultural troupes, among others, will take part in the Vijayadashami procession, popularly known as Jamboo Savari, on October 23, said, MLA Tanveer Sait, president of Procession, Tableaux and Torchlight Parade Sub-Committee.

Addressing the media after releasing a booklet, having information on the tableaux, Sait said, “Unlike previous years, the number of tableaux has been restricted to 23 to cut down expenditure in the wake of the State government’s decision to celebrate Dasara in a ‘simple and traditional’ manner.”

The works on tableaux was launched 20 days ago, with professionals and young artists drawn from Chamarajendra Academy of Visual Arts (CAVA) working on them. The tableaux are expected to be handed over to the sub-committee by October 22.

According to the booklet, besides various departments, the Zoo Authority of Karnataka (ZAK), University of Mysore and State Bank of Mysore have also designed tableaux to create awareness on their respective programmes and achievements.

The tableau of ZAK will portray conservation of wildlife, with Sri Chamarajendra Zoological Gardens, Bannerghatta Biological Park (BBP), Children’s Park and Mini Zoo, Ballari, Mini Zoo, Kittur Rani Chennamma Nisargadhama, Belagavi, Indira Priyadarshini Zoological Gardens, Davangere, Children’s Park and Mini Zoo, Gadag and Kalaburagi, and Tiger and Lion Safari, Shivamogga.

While the University of Mysore, in its tableau, will feature 100 years of its existence. The State Bank of Mysore, will highlight various loan schemes, including the recent MUDRA, for the benefit of farmers who are currently reeling under crisis due to decline in prices of farm produce.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)