CPI stages stir against price hike in Chikmagalur

CPI taluk committee staging a protest near the Head Post Office in Chikmagalur against corruption and price rise on Friday.  DH Photo

The taluk committee members of the CPI staged a protest near the Head Post Office here against the corruption and price rise on Friday. Police arrested the party workers, who made an attempt to block the road during the protest and later were released.

Party workers took out a procession from the party office via Mahatma Gandhi Road and reached the Head Post office premises. Police took CPI District Secretary B Amjad, taluk Secretary George Aswin and others into custody while they were trying to block the road.

“The UPA government at the Centre under Prime Minister Manmohan Singh is facing the corruption charges of 2G spectrum scam. Meanwhile the entire political situation is in turmoil due to the land scams and nepotism. The prices of essential commodities are being skyrocketing due to the lack of proper administration,” the protesters alleged. 

The Central government, which functions as an agent for multi-national companies, had hiked the petroleum price several times in the last eight months. The Centre has failed utterly in controlling the prices of essential commodities. People are literally forced to hardship and find no means to buy commodities, they complained.

Meanwhile, the BJP government in the State, which came to power in the name of farmers, has not implemented any pro-people schemes. Moreover, they increased the burden of the people by hiking the milk price again, leaders charged. 

“Let the Centre and the State government implement schemes for the welfare of the people,” they demanded.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)