Mysuru records 75.65 voter turnout in ZP, TP elections

Counting of votes to be taken up on February 23

Even though both zilla and taluk panchayat elections were conducted simultaneously in the second phase on February 20 in Mysuru district, there is a difference in total number of voters who exercised their franchise in both the polls. However, the total turnout is 74.65 per cent, according to the statistics released on Sunday.

According to the statistics released by the district administration, of the total electorate of 14.32 lakh including 7.26 lakh males and 7.06 lakh females, 10,69,658 voters have exercised their franchise in the elections to zilla panchayat against 10,69,652 voters in TP polls. Though the difference is minimal, the reasons are yet to be known, as there is no information on the total number of voters who preferred none of the above option (NOTA).

The difference in voting can be seen only in four taluks against total seven taluks,
according to the available information. In Mysuru taluk, while a total of 2,12,378 voters (1,09,285 males and 1,03,093 females) have exercised their franchise in ZP polls, 2,12,380 voters, two more than ZP, have exercised their franchise in TP polls too. 

Similarly, in Nanjangud taluk, 1,88,244 voters have exercised their franchise in ZP against 1,88,239 in TP, followed by T Narispur-1,39,851 for ZP and 1,39,849 for TP and Hunsur taluk-1,39,608 for ZP and 1,39,607 for TP.

Taluk-wise data
Talukwise, highest of 79.93 pc turnout has been recorded in Periyapatna taluk where a total of 1.26 lakh voters have exercised their franchise, followed by Hunsur-78.77 (1.39 lakh), KR Nagar-77.06 (1.29 lakh), Mysuru-74.19 lakh (2.12 lakh), Nanjangud-72.02 (1.88 lakh), HD Kote- 71.79 (1.34 lakh) and T Narsipur-71.54 (1.39 lakh).

The counting of votes will be taken up on February 23 at all the seven taluk centres. The votes of Mysuru taluk will be counted at Maharani’s College on JLB road in the city.  A total of 229 candidates are in the fray for 49 ZP seats and 691 candidates for 187 TP seats.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)