JD(S), BJP join hands to capture Mysore ZP

JD(S) member and ex-MLA Sunitha Veerappa Gowda was elected president, while BJP’s Shivarama became the vice-president in the 46-member ZP. Six members from the BJP and an independent supported the candidature of JD(S) to the president’s post.

The alliance crossed the half-way mark of 24 members in the elections held to the posts of president and vice-president conducted by Regional Commissioner V Jayanthi here.

Earlier, talks between Congress and JD(S) leaders failed to reach a consensus on the president’s post as both groups were bent on having the president’s post for their candidates. Congress MP Vishwanath decried the alliance and said the true colour of JD(S) was unmasked.

“The JD(S) is deceiving people claiming to be a secular party. The duo have gone for remarriage after a divorce. The Congress state high command should hold a state-wide protest condemning the dual policy of former prime minister H D Deve Gowda and H D Kumaraswamy,” he said.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)