District police sports meet: Women cops make mark

District police sports meet: Women cops make mark

Two athletes win gold double; IGP A S N Murthy opens event

Enthusiasm:IGP Southern range A S N Murthy

The three-day annual sports meet has been organised at District Armed Reserve (DAR) police grounds at Jyothinagar in the city.

Lajavanthi of district crime record bureau (DCRB) won gold in both shot putt and discus, while Vasantha of  south police won gold in both 100 metres running race and long jump.

She had to be satisfied with silver and bronze in shot put and discus throw respectively.

Among men, Raghavendra from Hunsur emerged winner in 800 metres. Shivananja Shetty from Saligrama finished first in 100 metres in PSI category.

Earlier, in his inaugural address IGP (Southern range) A S N Murthy said with sports in India assuming significance following the recent decision over expanding the scope of Bharat Ratna, highest civilian award of the nation, sportsmen should take note of the credit.

For police sports also helps in maintaining discipline.In this wake those on job should develop interest in sports and also remain sportive.

Police personnel belonging to DAR, south, women’s and special wings, besides Hunsur sub-division are taking part in the sports meet.

SP Manish Karbiker, additional SP P Venkataswamy and others were present.



800 metres: Raghavendra, Hunsur- first, Siddaraju Nayaka, DAR, second and Prasanna Nayaka, DAR, third.

Shotput: Ravish, Hunsur, first, Chandrashekar, DAR, second and Srikanta, Nanjangud, third.

Officers (PSI): 100 metres: Shivananja Shetty, Saligrama, first, J K Raghu, Bettadapura, second and J J Satish, Periyapatna, third.

Inspectors- 100 metres- Nataraj, special branch, first, R P Ashok, special branch, second and P V Venkatesh, Periyapatna, third.


100 metres: Vasantha, Mysore south, first, Rekha Urs, Najangud, second, and Nalinakshi, Nanjangud, third.

Long jump: Vasantha, first, Mamata, Hullahalli, second and Rekha Urs, Nanjangud, third.

Shotput: Lajavanthi, DCRB, first, Vasantha, Mysore south, second and Sharmila, Mysore south, third.

Discus throw: Lajavanthi, first, Rekha Urs, second and Vasantha, third.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)