KJP spoils BJP's prospects in HDMC

KJP spoils BJP's prospects in HDMC

Most ULBs in N-K now in Congress kitty

In what is being seen as a set back to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party in general and Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar in particular, the party has managed to win just 33 out of 67 seats in the Hubli-Dharwad Municipal Corporation (HDMC).

However, the Congress and the JDS have maintained their numbers in the HDMC by winning 22 and 9 seats respectively. The fledgling KJP has opened its account in second biggest civic body in the State.

The BJP which needs one more seat to retain its hold over the HDMC, may take the support of its rebel candidate Mallikarjun Horakeri who has emerged victorious. Horakeri may back the BJP if he is given a good position in the HDMC.

Though the KJP has won only one seat, it has spoiled the prospects of the BJP in at least nine wards, where the BJP lost by slender margins. The BJP had claimed that it would win 40-45 seats as Hubli-Dharwad is its stronghold and also it is Shettar’s home turf. The BSR Congress, which tried its best to make its presence felt, drew a blank.

Unlike in HDMC, voters have largely preferred the Congress in most of the ULBs in the north Karnataka districts of Dharwad, Haveri, Gadag, Bijapur and Bagalkot and Uttara Kannada.

In Dharwad district, the Congress gained majority in Navalgund Town Municipal Council (TMC), Alnavar and Kalghatagi town panchayats (TPs), while the Janata Dal(S) emerged as the single largest party in Annigeri TMC. No party could secure simple majority in Annigeri TMC and Kundgol TP. The BJP drew a blank in Kalghatagi.

The KJP secured two seats each in Kundgol and Kalghatagi TPs, while the BSR Congress has also won two seats in Kalghatagi TP and one in Annigeri TMC.

In the Haveri CMC, the Congress has emerged as the single largest party by winning 14 of the total 31 seats. The BJP and the KJP have bagged eight seats each. The BJP has come to power on its own in the Bagalkot CMC. Of the other 10 ULBs in the district, the Congress has bagged five, BJP three and JD(S) one. While no party enjoys majority in Kerur and Jamakhandi, the Badami TMC has gone the JD(S) way.

By winning 13 of the 23 seats, BJP gained control over the Guledhgudda TMC. The Rabkavi-Banahatti TMC; Belgi and Hungund TPs; Ilkal and Mudhol TMCs have gone the Congress way. The Jamakandi TMC is a hung house. The BJP has won the Mahalingpur TMC.

In the 31-member Karwar CMC, the Congress and BJP have won 13 seats each. Congress gained control over Sirsi CMC by winning 20 of the 31 seats, while BJP got 10 seats. No party has got clear lead in In Ankola, Siddapur and Mundugod TPs.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)