26 nominations filed in Udupi-Chikmagalur

26 nominations filed in Udupi-Chikmagalur

Deputy Commissioner Hephshiba Rani Korlapati said that 14 candidates have filed 26 nominations from Udupi-Chikmagalur Lok Sabha constituency.

Speaking to mediapersons on Tuesday, the deputy commissioner listed the candidates names which include-- Shobha Karandlaje (BJP), Pramod Madhwaraj (JD(S), M K Dayanand (Proutist Sarva Samaj party), M K Ganesh (Independent) ,Gautam Prabhu (Shiv Sena), Shekar Havanje (Republican Party of India), Suresh Kunder (Uttama Prajakeeya Party), Ganapathy Shettigar (Independent) and Vijay Kumar (CPI, Marxist and Leninist, Red Star), P Parameshwar (BSP), Amrit Shenoy (Independent), Sudheer Kanchan (Independent), K C Prakash (Independent) and Abdul Rehman (Independent). 

She added that the nominations would be scrutinized on March 27 and March 29 was the last date for the withdrawal of nominations.

She said that many awareness programmes were held to coax people threatening to boycott the polls not to do so and vote instead.

Superintendent of Police Nisha James said that bonds had been collected from 1,660 persons.

The cases against 148 intimidators who posed a problem in the previous elections were registered under Security Act. Of the total 1,738 rowdies in the district, 1,401 were extradited after registering cases against them.

"There are a total of 255 sensitive and 856 normal polling booths. Of the total 255 sensitive booths, 55 booths are in Maoist-affected areas.  Five Companies of paramilitary forces will be deployed for security," she added.