4.34 lakh voters in Kodagu district

4.34 lakh voters in Kodagu district

Additional Deputy Commissioner Shrinivas

As per the newly released draft of the revised voters' list, there are 4,34,256 voters in Kodagu district, said Additional Deputy Commissioner Shrinivas.

Addressing reporters at the DC's office in Madikeri on Wednesday, he said that new 5,444 voters are enrolled this time. The names of 6,449 voters have been omitted from the list, for the reasons of death, change of place and repeated entries.

The draft of the voters' list, containing the picture of the voters, has been published as per the directions issued by the Election Commission of India.

The voters must ensure that their names are mentioned in the revised voters' list, said the additional DC. If not, the citizen may submit their application in Form-6, to booth level officers or to the taluk office. The deletion of the names of demised voters, change of location and removal of repeated entries can be requested under Form 7.

Shrinivas further said that an awareness programme on voting will be held for the sake of voters in the booth, taluk and district levels on January 25, on account of Voters' Day.

The new voters will be distributed with voter's identity cards on the occasion, he added.

This apart, the Election Commission has set up the helpline number 1950 in all districts, to clarify the doubts of people on the voting process. The helpline will be operational between 9 am and 9 pm on all the days.

In connection with the release of the draft of the revised voters' list, a meeting was convened by the additional DC, with the representatives of political parties.

Leaders Sajil Krishna from BJP, Tennira Maina from Congress, Ajith Kumar from JD(S), Appanna and Shamaraj were present.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox