MCC polls throw up hung verdict, again

MCC polls throw up hung verdict, again

JDS winning candidates celebrating during the MCC election counting at New Maharani's in Mysuru on Monday.

As all the three major political parties —JD(S), BJP and Congress — failed to get a clear majority in the Mysuru City Corporation (MCC) election, it’s hung council for the seventh consecutive term. Like in state government, the Congress-JD(S) combine is likely to form an alliance to seize the power in the Palike.

The elections were held for 65 wards under the MCC on August 31. After the counting of the votes, no single party got a clear majority of 33 seats. The previous council, 2013-2018, was formed by the JD(S) and the BJP, despite the Congress emerging as the largest party.

This time, though the BJP has emerged as the single largest party with 22 corporators, it cannot form the council independently as it is 11 seats short of the simple majority. While the Congress won in 19 wards, JD(S) has 18 seats in its kitty. The remaining six seats have been shared by BSP, independents and others.Congress party city president R Murthy said, Congress will not join the BJP to form the council. “We will form the council with the support of the JD(S) as we have an alliance in the state-level,” he said.

According to sources, even BJP leaders are trying to get the support of the JD(S). It is said that though the BJP emerged as the single largest party, the leaders are ready to spare the Mayor’s post to the JD(S). BJP city president Dr B H Manjunath approached Minister Sa Ra Mahesh (of JD(S)) on forging an alliance. Even MP Pratap Simha has made an attempt to convince the JD(S) leaders for an alliance. However, the MP said, the BJP is ready to sit in the opposition, if the JD(S) fails to extend support.

The MCC has witnessed six elections since it was upgraded to City Corporation from Municipality in 1983. But, no single party has emerged victorious with a majority, to form the council since then.

In the first election, out of 57 wards, Janata Party had emerged as a single largest party, but, it failed to form the council due to a shortage of three seats. Janata Party formed the council with the support of independents. In the 1990 election, Congress missed the opportunity as it fell short of just two seats. In 1996, the number of wards was increased to 65, after delimitation, and it was neck and neck fight between the Janata Dal and the Congress. But, both the parties failed to get a simple majority.

Similarly, in the 2002 election, the fight between the two parties continued and the  Congress missed the opportunity to form the council for it was short of four seats. In the 2007 elections, it was a three-cornered fight between the Congress, the BJP and the JD(S). While the Congress emerged the biggest party with 22 seats, the BJP and JD(S) managed to win 18 seats each and formed the council.