MLC polls: All 11 candidates may be elected unopposed

MLC polls: All 11 candidates may be elected unopposed

PTI file photo for representation only.

As many as 11 candidates from the three major parties filed their nominations for the biennial elections to Legislative Council from the Assembly on June 11.

The elections were necessitated due to the completion of the term of 11 MLCs. The members - five from BJP, four from Congress and two from JD(S) - will complete their term on June 17.

All candidates are likely to be elected unanimously as there are no other contenders.

Though the BJP and the Congress announced their list of candidates on Wednesday itself, the JD(S) failed to make an official announcement of its two candidates.

In the last minute decision, it decided to field party general secretary B M Farookh and former legislator S L Dharme Gowda. The duo was the last to file their nominations on Thursday.

While the elections were notified on May 24, Thursday was the last date for filing nominations. The last date for withdrawal of nominations is June 4.

Polling will be from 9 am -4 pm on June 11, if necessary, and results announced the same day.