Not contesting Assembly polls: Shobha

Not contesting Assembly polls: Shobha

Shobha Karandlaje

BJP general secretary Shobha Karandlaje on Wednesday ruled out contesting the Assembly polls stating that she still had one more year left of her tenure as Member of Parliament.

Karandlaje represents the Udupi-Chikkamagaluru constituency in the Lok Sabha.

“I am not contesting the Assembly polls. I have one more year as MP and will complete that. Thereafter, I will abide by the party leadership’s decision,” Karandlaje told reporters on the sidelines of an event in Bengaluru.

The party has given Assembly tickets to only two sitting MPs this time around — B S Yeddyurappa and B Sriramulu. However, there was speculation on Tuesday that the party may give a ticket to Karandlaje to contest from Yeshwanthpur in Bengaluru and Bagalkot MP P C Gaddigoudar to contest from Badami.

Karandlaje represented the Yeshwanthpur seat in the Assembly between 2008 and 2013.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily