Rahul to decide on tickets for incumbent legislators

 Congress president Rahul Gandhi. PTI file photo

The Congress is under pressure from MLAs and MLCs to be given a ticket to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, despite the party having taken a stand that incumbent legislators will not be accommodated.

The Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) has, according to sources, decided to leave it to Congress president Rahul Gandhi’s discretion to take a call.

The names of at least six incumbent legislators are doing the rounds for the Lok Sabha tickets - Shivajinagar MLA R Roshan Baig, MLC Rizwan Arshad (Bangalore Central), MLCs H M Revanna, M Narayanaswamy, Byatarayanapura MLA Krishna Byre Gowda (Bangalore North) and Haliyal MLA R V Deshpande (Uttara Kannada).

“One of the criteria fixed by the AICC is that sitting MLAs and MLCs should not be given tickets. This will be flexible as the party has relaxed such criteria in the past. So, like always, Rahul Gandhi will take a call on this,” a source said.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 1

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0



Rahul to decide on tickets for incumbent legislators


Write the first review for this !