Manjhi wins trust vote in Bihar

Manjhi wins trust vote in Bihar

Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi Friday won the trust vote in the assembly.

Manjhi proved his majority after Nitish Kumar quit as Bihar chief minister Saturday following his party's rout in the Lok Sabha polls.

A 68-year-old Mahadalit leader, Manjhi was Tuesday sworn-in as the 23rd chief minister of Bihar.

A total of 145 legislators voted for the motion moved by the chief minister while opposition BJP's 88 legislators walked out of the state assembly. The house has 243 members, but currently it has only 237 members.

The ruling Janata Dal-United (JD-U) has 117 legislators and it was supported by one CPI legislator, two Independent legislators, four Congress legislators and 21 RJD legislators.

Manjhi was Monday named by outgoing chief minister Nitish Kumar after he was authorised by the JD-U legislature party to select a new leader.

Manjhi - from the Mushahar community - was SC/ST welfare minister in the Nitish Kumar cabinet. He is legislator from the Makhdoompur assembly constituency.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)