Nearly a quarter vote in Madhya Pradesh

Nearly a quarter vote in Madhya Pradesh

Nearly a quarter vote in Madhya Pradesh
Almost a quarter of the voters cast their ballot in the first few hours of Thursday in Madhya Pradesh's 10 Lok Sabha seats where one of the candidates is senior BJP leader Sushma Swaraj, officials said.

Brisk polling was seen for 10 Lok Sabha seats and one assembly seat, officials said.
Three polling booths witnessed poll boycott by voters, but the authorities said they are trying to convince them to vote.

In Vidisha, BJP's leader of opposition in the Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj is pitted against Congress candidate Lakshman Singh, the younger brother of Congress general secretary Digvijaya Singh.

For the Indore seat, BJP has fielded Sumitra Mahajan who is contesting against Satyanarayan Patel of Congress and Anil Trivedi of Aam Aadmi Party.
Of the 10 parliamentary constituencies, Congress had won six in the 2009 Lok Sabha election.

Nine electronic voting machines were changed following glitches.
As many as 118 candidates are in the fray for the 10 Lok Sabha seats and 11 candidates for the by-poll in Vidisha assembly constituency.

The parliamentary constituencies where polling is being held are - Vidisha, Dewas, Ujjain, Indore, Dhar, Ratlam, Mandsaur, Khargone, Khandwa and Betul.

In the first four hours of voting, Dewas recorded 30.11 percent voter turnout and Dhar recorded 19.2 percent turnout. The state's parliamentary seats recorded an average voter turn out of 22 percent.

Balloting is being held at 19,444 polling booths where 46,133 electronic voting machines (EVMs) are being used. 

A total of 155,552 officials have been tasked to hold polling.
As many as 16,960,213 electors, including 8,171,532 women, are eligible to exercise their franchise.

This is the third and final round of polling in the state. The first two phases saw voting in 19 constituencies.