Balasaheb Thorat elected Cong Legislative Party leader

Balasaheb Thorat elected Cong Legislative Party leader

Maharashtra Congress president Balasaheb Thorat. (PTI photo)

After a delay of over a month, Maharashtra Congress president Balasaheb Thorat was on Tuesday elected as the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader. 

The election was unanimous at a meeting presided over by AICC General Secretary Mallikarjun Kharge. 

The 66-year-old is an eight-term MLA from Sangamner in Ahmednagar district and is the senior-most legislator in 14th Maharashtra Legislative Assembly. 

Thorat, an arts and law graduate, has had held important portfolios like agriculture and revenue in the erstwhile Congress-NCP Democratic Front government. In the 13th Maharashtra Legislative Assembly, he was CLP leader briefly after Radhakrishna Vikhe-Patil resigned as Leader of  Opposition and CLP leader. While Thorat was CLP leader, Vijay Wadettiwar became Leader of Opposition.