'Prestige battle' in many Odisha seats

'Prestige battle' in many Odisha seats

Niranjan Patnaik (Image courtesy Twitter)

“Prestige battles” will be witnessed in many Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies in Odisha during the fourth and final phase of ongoing elections in the state on Monday.

Personal prestige of many heavyweights in different political parties will be at stake in this round of polls. Elections are going to be held for six Lok Sabha and 41 Assembly constituencies in the final round.

The battle for Balasore Lok Sabha constituency in north Odisha has turned a prestige issue for PCC chief Niranjan Patnaik as his son Nabajyoti Patnaik is making his debut in electoral politics in the important seat. Taking him on are two stalwarts – sitting BJD MP Rabindra Jena and former two-time BJP MLA Pratap Sarangi.

In neighbouring tribal-dominated Mayurbhanj Lok Sabha constituency, the triangular contest has become a prestige battle for Jharkhand Mukti Morcha(JMM) supremo and former Jharkhand chief minister Sibu Soren as his daughter Anjani Soren is trying her luck from the north Odisha constituency for the first time.

The personal prestige of two stalwarts, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and his latest bete noire, Baijayant Panda will be on test in coastal Kendrapara Lok Sabha constituency. The BJD rebel and sitting MP Panda is contesting the polls on a BJP ticket in the important constituency where he is being taken on by Patnaik’s personal choice, the movie star turned politico Anubhav Mohanty.

The prestige of six-time sitting MP Arjun Sethi is at stake in north Odisha Bhadrak Lok Sabha constituency where his son Abhimanyu Sethi is contesting on a BJP ticket. The father-son duo had quit BJD after the regional outfit denied the senior Sethi a ticket.