BJP protests against Tipu jayanti celebrations

BJP protests against Tipu jayanti celebrations

BJP Belagavi district unit leaders and activists staged demonstrations before the deputy commissioner's office, here on Friday, opposing Tipu Jayanti celebrations being held by the state government.

They condemned the state government for going ahead with the celebrations despite opposition. BJP activists raised slogans and submitted a memorandum to the deputy commissioner.

MP Suresh Angadi said, that the state government must celebrate the birth anniversary of former president A P J Abdul Kalam, instead of Tipu Sultan.

BJP district president Dr Vishwanath Patil, former MLA Sanjay Patil, M B Zirali, Shivaji Suntkar, and other office bearers led the demonstration. Police prevented BJP from taking out a protest march from Kannada Sahitya Bhavan to deputy commissioner's office.


Kumaraswamy to skip Tipu Jayanti celebration