Innovation in science need of the hour: CM

Innovation in science need of the hour: CM

State Awards For Scientists and Engineers. DH photo

Innovation in science and technology is important for the growth of the state, said Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy while addressing scientists and engineers at Indian Institute of Science on Monday.

The Karnataka State Council for Science and Technology (KSCST) organised a programme to confer the Sir M Visvesvaraya, Dr Raja Ramanna, Sir CV Raman, Prof Satish Dhawan and Dr Kalpana Chawla State awards for 2017 on scientists and engineers.

Kumaraswamy said youngsters must be encouraged and provided financial support. “A few days ago, a girl with 83% score in NEET came crying to me. She wanted to pursue medicine but she could not afford the fees. I offered her Rs 40 lakh as fees. I will form a committee help deserving candidates avail proper financial support from the government for higher education,” he said.

Awards winners

Sir M Visvesvaraya Award for Senior Scientists: Prof B G Mulimani, Prof S Ayyappan

Dr Raja Ramanna Award for Scientists: Dr G Gururaj, Prof H A Ranganath

Sir C V Raman Award for Young Scientists: Prof Karunakara N, Prof Arun Mohan Isloor, Dr Jagadisha Thirthalli, Prof Patrick Raymond D’Silva and Prof Nataraja Karaba N

Prof Satish Dhawan Award for Young Engineer: Prof Praveen C Ramamurthy, Prof K Vidya Shetty, Prof Chandra R Murthy

Dr Kalpana Chawla Award for Young Women Scientists: Prof Maneesha S Inamdar