Karnataka outclass Bengal to enter final

 The State girls will meet defending champions Kerala, who beat Maharashtra 6-4 in the other semifinal, in Saturday’s final.

Karnataka started off well, shooting three goals in the first quarter. Swetha S opened the account in the second minute itself while Renu RT and Varshini Gubbi swelled the lead to 3-0. Uttara Kotari netted the team’s fourth goal, one minute into the second quarter, but soon after that the Bengal girls reduced the margin through Tagari Baidya.
Bengal piled on the pressure, however, Saraswathi stood rock solid under the bar to thwart the opponents. Shruthi then made it 5-1 at half-time.

After the break, Varshini scored two goals in the third quarter.
The second goal came after a swift passing move between Varshini, Shruthi and Renu.
In the fourth quarter, Thagnatha S Prasad and Shruthi scored for Karnataka before Bhagyashree Nasker got one back for Bengal.

In the boys’ semifinal West Bengal defeated Punjab 10-2 and they will face Kerala in the title round.

Results (semifinals): Boys: Kerala: 13 bt Maharashtra: 11; West Bengal: 10 bt Punjab: 2.
Girls: Karnataka: 9 (Thagnatha S Prasad 1, Shruthi MS 2, Swetha S 1, Varshini Gubbi 3, Renu RT 1, Uttara Kotari 1) bt West Bengal: 2 (Tagari Baidya 1, Bhagyashree Nasker 1); Kerala: 6 bt Maharashtra: 4.

Comments (+)