Unruly MLAs thrash marshals

Last Updated 11 October 2010, 19:11 IST

The angry MLAs of the Opposition parties thrashed, slapped and pushed them to wall and 16 marshals, including S Bandiwada, Ningaiah and Shashidhar Prasad were injured in the melee.

The MLAs, usually friendly with marshals, vented their anger against the ruling party by abusing the police who were present in large numbers on the Assembly Hall premises. The incident occurred when the JD(S) MLAs gatecrashed into the Assembly Hall with the disqualified MLAs.

The Speaker had instructed the marshals not to allow disqualified MLAs into the Hall.

An Opposition MLA slapped a constable who was positioned atop the Speaker’s podium. Another constable, Thimmappa Raju fainted as several Congress MLAs hit him in his stomach when he prevented them from entering the Hall.

His colleague Lingaiah was hurt when the JD(S) MLAs broke the panes at the Assembly gate. Reserved Sub-Inspectors Kumaraswamy and Revanna also suffered minor injuries.

Legislative Council Marshal S Bandiwada was shocked when Congress leader Siddaramaiah and others assaulted him, questioning why he allowed the police to enter the Hall.

Siddaramaiah’s move prompted his colleagues to further beat Bandiwada who desperately tried to shield himself from their blows.

Prakash Hukkeri (Congress) removed Bandiwada’s cap. JD(S) leader H D Revanna intervened to pacify Siddaramaiah.


City Police Commissioner Shankar Bidari told reporters that 16 police had sustained injuries following unruly behaviour of some of the MLAs. The police would register a complaint and conduct an investigation.

(Published 11 October 2010, 16:42 IST)

Follow us on