BSY may keep 2-3 berths for 'others'

BSY may keep 2-3 berths for 'others'

Presently,  there are six Cabinet berths vacant following the sacking of four independent ministers - Shivaraj Tangadagi, D Sudhakar, Venkataramanappa, P M Narendraswamy and two BJP rebels - Anand Asnotikar and Shivanagouda Naik.

According to party sources, independent MLA Varthur Prakash will be given a plum Cabinet berth in return for his support to the government during the trust vote. Two partymen will also be inducted during the expansion. The names of C T Ravi, D N Jeevaraj, Appachu Rajan, Appu Patanashetti and Raju Gowda are doing the rounds for these two slots.

Tourism Minister Janardhana Reddy is said to have held several rounds of parleys with senior party leader Venkaiah Naidu on the feasibility of continuing the second round of “Operation Lotus” that was launched with JD(S) legislator M C Ashwatha resigning his membership in the Legislative Assembly.

The BJP core committee met for the first time on Monday after the chief minister won the trust vote on the floor of the House. The core committee meeting is also said to have decided to launch a damage control exercise by making the government announce some welfare programmes.

Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, Eshwarappa, party National General Secretary Ananth Kumar, besides Janardhana Reddy and Venakaiah Naidu attended the core committee meeting.