Somdev, Sania to lead India in Asiad

Somdev, Sania to lead India in Asiad

Somdev, Sania to lead India in Asiad

Seasoned pro and doubles specialist Leander Paes had already made it clear that he will not be part of the Indian sqaud as the Games are clashing with prestigious World Tour finals, which he is keen to participate in and as expected he was not named in the six-member squad, announced by the All India Tennis Association (AITA) on Friday.

The Asian Games are scheduled to take place in Gu-angzhou, China from November 12 to 27 while the season-ending World Tour finals will be held in London between November 21 and 28.

Mahesh Bhupathi and Rohan Bopanna have been named in the squad but they will be available only if they fail to qualify for World Tour finals. Vishnu Vardhan, Karan Rastogi and Sanam Singh are the other members of the men’s squad.

Teen sensation Yuki Bhambari, who is recovering from a bout of pneumonia, has opted out due to health reasons.

“Sanam Singh’s selection is subject to approval of his University which we are hopeful will be forth coming,” an AITA release said. Sania Mirza, who won silver medal at the Commonwealth Games, will lead the Indian challenge in the women’s competition.

All the four female players who were part of the CWG squad including — Nirupama Sanjeev, Rushmi Chakravathy and Poojashree Venkatesh — are part of the squad.
Tara Iyer and Shivika Burman are the other members.

The four-member AITA Selection Committee, headed by Anil Dhupar, selected the two squads in consultation with Jaidip Mukherjea.

Squad: Men: Mahesh Bhupathi, Rohan Bopanna, Somdev Devvarman Vishnu Vardhan, Karan Rastogi and Sanam K Singh

Women: Sania Mirza, Poojashree Venkatesh, Nirupama Sanjeev, Rushmi Chakravarthy, Tara Iyer and Shivika Burman.