Ward 41 by-polls: 53 pc voting recorded

Moderate polling witnessed in all the booths

Council secretary of MCC Gayathri who is also the returning officer told Deccan Herald, of the total 9,052 voters in the ward, 4,757 have exercised their franchise.  A total of 10 booths had been opened up in the ward. When Deccan Herald did a reality check, it was a moderate polling in almost all the booths. At booth no 434 at St Philomena’s Primary School, Golan Das, B N road, only 310 of the total 928 had poll ed at 12.45 pm. At two other booths in the same school; 435 and 430 of the total 887 and 728 votes, 318 and 307 had polled respectively at that time.

The counting of votes will be held at MCC itself on November 11 and the result is expected within two hours of commencing of the process.

Congress has fielded Raveendra Kumar, BJP- R Srinivas and Janata Dal (Secular) S R Swamy, besides independents J Kiran Kumar and Annaiah Swamy in the fray.

The by-polls was necessitated following the disqualification of sitting corporator B Narayanappa. Narayanappa who was elected on BJP ticket in the elections held three years ago had submitted an affidavit, while contesting for the ward reserved for ST candidate.

Congress candidate Govindaraju who had lost to Narayanappa in the same polls by a wafer thin margin had moved court contending that Narayanappa had submitted a false certificate claiming that he belonged to ST.

The court had found Narayanappa guilty and had ordered for by-polls, disqualifying him as a councillor.

Comments (+)