Karnataka register innings and 33-run win over Orissa

Karnataka register innings and 33-run win over Orissa

Twin centuries from Manish Pandey and CM Gautam and some fine bowling by Sunil Joshi and Abhimanyu Mithun helped Karnataka register this comprehensive victory. After bundling out Orissa for a mere 191 in their first innings, Karnataka scored 503 in their first essay.

Today, Orissa started on 92 for one in their second essay, still trailing the hosts by 220 runs on the final day, with plans of playing out a draw here at the M Chinnaswamy stadium. But the visitors lost Natraj Behera (60) early on the day four morning with an addition of only 22 runs to the total.

And although Niranjan Behera (94) along with Govind Podder (13) tried to rebuild but the latter got run out to a direct hit from Sagar, after putting on a 40 plus partnership. However, Niranjan continued to hold on to his wicket and shared another 40 plus stand with Biplab Samantray (34) before getting bowled out.

Thereafter, no other batsmen, apart from Alok Sahoo (34), could counter Karnataka bowlers, eventually getting all out for 279 to hand over the hosts an easy win and a bonus point.

Abhimanyu Mithun finished the day on four for 70, while Sreenath Aravind and Adithya Sagar chipped in with two wickets each.

Brief scores: Orissa: 191 & 279 (Niranjan Behera 94, Natraj Behera 60; Abhimanyu Mithun 4/70).

Karnataka 1st innings: 503 (Manish Pandey 171, CM Gautam 158, Alok Sahoo 4/110, Basanth Mohanty 3/84).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)