Madikeri municipality gets Rs 15 cr

Madikeri municipality gets Rs 15 cr

The government will provide Rs 15 crore to Madikeri Municipality, Rs 5 crore each to Virajpet and Somwarpet Town Panchayats and Rs 2 crore for Kushalnagar under the Chief Minister’s Small and Medium Towns Development Programme (CMSMTDP).

Madikeri Town Municipality Chairman P D Ponnappa said that the government has plans to implement development works to the tune of Rs 30 crore in two years. The government has reserved a total of Rs 1,411 crore for the development of 20 Town Municipalities in two years and 199 Town Panchayats in one year under the programme, he added.


Priority will be given for the development of water supply system, underground drainage, solid waste management, roads, footpaths, drainage, slum development, street lights and other infrastructure, Ponnappa said.

About 20 per cent of the sanction will be utilised for the slum area development, he said adding that footpaths and drainages will be developed utilising 50 per cent of the fund.
SFC grant can also be included while preparing action plan for the CMSMTD programme. Works under the action plan should be executed adhering to the KTTP Act 1999 and Rules of 2000, he said. Deputy commissioner will be the chairman of the committee for implementing the programme in Towns which come under district centres, while assistant commissioners will be the chairmen for taluk centres.

Local body presidents, assistant commissioners, town municipality commissioners, tahsildars and chief executive officers will be the members of the committee, Ponnappa said adding that deputy commissioner should submit the action plans of all Towns to the district in-charge minister for approval.

Commissioner K Shrikanthrao was present.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)