Delhi score 242 for six vs Mumbai to bow out of Ranji Trophy

Mumbai were all-out for 493 in their second essay. However the only interest was whether Virat Kohli who has been in great form could provide some entertainment for those present at the Roshanara Club ground.

Kohli lasted barely 21 minutes and was again dismissed cheaply in the 13th over of the Delhi's second innings with veteran Ajit Agarkar proving to be his nemesis. He was caught by Prashant Naik off Agarkar's bowling for only nine.

With the match already dead as contest, Mumbai pressed hard for another outright win as they reduced Delhi to 69 for five by 22 overs. But Punit Bisht (36) and Rahat Bhatia (57 not out) added 67 runs for the sixth wicket but more importantly consumed an hour and 45 minutes.

After that Sumit Narwal used the long handle to a good effect as he scored an unbeaten 79 off only 72 balls with the help of nine fours and four sixes.

Defending champions Mumbai will now meet Rajasthan in their quarterfinal match at Jaipur. Railways will play in an away quarterfinal match in Baroda while Haryana will play Tamil Nadu at Lahli while Karnataka meet Madhya Pradesh at Indore. The quarterfinals will start from December 24.

Meanwhile, English umpire Tim Robinson will officiate in the Ranji Trophy quarterfinal match between Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh which will be held Indore as a part of the exchange programme between BCCI and ECB.

Similarly, Shahvir Tarpore will officiate two County games in England.

Comments (+)