AP parties vertically split over Telangana

Naidu asks TDP leaders to keep mum on the issue

 Political observers say the meeting convened by Home Minister P Chidambaram is not expected to achieve any dramatic breakthrough on the sensitive issue that has divided people along regional lines. While three parties stand for statehood to Telangana, two are opposed to it and three undecided.

The BJP, CPI and the TRS will urge the Centre to immediately initiate the process for formation of Telangana state within a specified timeframe.

The  CPM and the Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) are opposed to breaking up the state. The Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM), might demand a separate Hyderabad state.

While, the main opposition TDP called a meeting of Telangana leaders on Friday, party president Chandrababu Naidu told them to keep mum till a decision on the two members representing the party is taken.

The party’s Telangana MPs, MLAs and MLCs also met at the TDP legislature party office to discuss the stance they have to take before the Union home minister on January 6.
The situation is no different in the ruling Congress which is split vertically on the issue. The party will be sending two members representing two regions. 

Though the CPI to be represented by state secretary K Narayana is from the Rayalaseema region, he is supporting statehood to Telangana. The CPM delegation might include its lone legislator J Ranga Reddy from Telangana who is for a unified state.
Actor-turned-politician K Chiranjeevi and C Ramchandraiah who represented the PRP, might repeat the same combination. BJP state president Bandaru Dattatreya is from Telangana while the MIM, which will be represented by its president and Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi and legislator Akbaruddin Owaisi is not for a separate state and might keep their options open.

Comments (+)