Polling peaceful in three districts

While the Hassan district recorded around 68 per cent of voting, it was around 65 per cent in both Chamarajanagar district and Mandya districts. For the first time in the history, the deputy commissioner had provided transport facility for the voters of 17 tribal hamlets  of Kollegal taluk to exercise their franchise, after taking required permission from the State Election Commission.

In Hassan district, the polling was delayed for some time in Kattaya, Hanumanthapura of Hassan taluk,  Madalu of Arsikere taluk following technical snag in the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). The polling resumed after replacing the machines. An altercation took place between polling officers and polling agents when a polling officer was found telling aloud neo-literate voters to vote for a particular party. On the receipt of information, senior officials rushed to the spot and replaced the officer. A EVM was damaged in clashes among the supporters of Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) parties at Hirekadlur polling booth in Hassan taluk. Confusion prevailed for some time at Tirumalahalli near Halebeedu as the names of more than 30 voters were found missing in the voter’s list. The situation came to normal after the returning oficer allowed them to vote on the basis of the previous year’s voter’s list.

The villagers of Konanur boycotted voting, urging the State Government  to upgrade the Konanur Gram Panchayat to Town Panchayat. No voter from the village exercised the franchise in any of the seven polling booths. A majority of voters of Bidarakallu village of Holenarasipur taluk too boycotted urging basic facilities. However, 21 among them voted. This paved for tension in the village. As a precautionary measure heavy police bandobust was made. The elections  were  held for 40 Zilla Panchayat seats and 150 Taluk Panchayat seats in the district.

In Chamarajanagar, the villagers of Nijalingapura in Chamarajanagar taluk  boycotted voting demanding the district administration to set up the polling booth in their village and also to provide basic amenities. The efforts by the elected representatives and officials proved futile as the villagers stuck to their stand.

Even the voters of Chamalapura in Yalandur taluk and Punajanur check post in Chamarajanagar taluk abstained from voting for some time. Later, they agreed to vote after the district administration promised to fulfill their demands. A minor clash took place among Congress and BJP workers over a trivial issue. However, the police intervened and brought the situation under control.

In Mandya district, voters protested in some places over the missing of names in voter’s list. There were also reports of boycotting of voting in some villages.

The polling was delayed at some villages in Malavalli and Mandya taluks following technical snags in the EVMs.The returning officers made alternative arrangaments.
The polling began on a dull note but picked up in the afternoon.

A person died after consuming alcohol allegedly distributed by candidates at Sitapura village in Pandavapura taluk. Devaraju(38) is the deceased.  
Demanding basic amenities, villagers of  Cheekanahalli of K R Pet taluk, Huluvadi of Mandya taluk, Haralahalli of Maddur taluk boycotted voting. However, they voted after the elected representatives and the village elders intervened.

A gram panchayat president was injured in a group clash that occurred among the supporters of JD(S) and CPM at Talagawadi village in Malavalli taluk.
 Ananda is the injured and he is being treated at the District General Hospital.

Comments (+)