Chamundi Vihar to get mega facelift

Chamundi Vihar to get mega facelift

Stadium to be upgraded at a cost of `12 crore: Ramdas

He was speaking at the inauguration of the two-day district-level sports and cultural meet for members of the Karnataka State Government Employees Association (KSEA) organised by the Zilla Panchayat and Youth Services and Sports Department here on Sunday.

Expressing concern at the decrease in number of participants at the sports meet, Ramdas said that physical exercise helps a person control their mind and body, which is necessary to complete one’s duty successfully every day.

He urged the employees to bring their families also to participate in the sporting competitions.

He said that even politicians need to be mentally and physically strong to conduct their duties. However, he said that participation in sports would help to inculcate the spirit of sportsmanship in each person.

Addressing the spectators on the occasion, Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Assembly Siddaramaiah emphasised that a sound body is needed for a sound mind.
Observing that discipline and sport are inseparable, Siddaramaiah said that sport helps a person remain fit and healthy. Furthermore, he said that health consciousness is improving among people these days.

Commenting about the political mudslinging, he said, “It  is necessary to have political decency and we should not cross that limit.”

Mayor Sandesh Swamy, MLA Dr H C Mahadevappa, MLC Siddaraju, Deputy Commissioner Harsh Gupta, Additional Deputy Commissioner Dr C J Betsurmath, KSEA President H K Ramu and others were present.

Athletics: Men

High Jump: Dayananda, (Education Department (ED), H D Kote) 1, Kendanna Swamy (Kabini, Nanjangud) 2, Subramanya (Animal Husbandry Department, Periyapatna) 3.
200 Metre: Deepak M (Health Department (HD), Nanjangud) 1, Pradeep Kumar (Prisons Department, Mysore) 2, Ganapathi (Social Welfare Department (SWD), Mysore) 3.
800 Metre: Gowrishankar (Education Department, Nanjangud) 1, Pradeep (Education Department, H D Kote) 2, Srishyla Sosalar (Education Department, T Narsipur)
45 years and above

800 Metre: Padmanabha (ED, Mysore) 1, K S Shivakumar (ED, Mysore) 2, M N Krishnamurthy (ED, Mysore rural) 3.
Long Jump: Subramanya (HD, Periyapatna) 1, Lokesh C M (ED, Mysore) 2, Rajagopal R (HD, Mysore) 3.

Shot Put: Manjunath (ED, K R Nagar) 1, Shivamurthy M (ED, Nanjangud) 2, Srinivas K (ED, Mysore) 3.

Javelin Throw: Ravikumar (HD, Periyapatna) 1, Manjunath (ED, K R Nagar) 2, Venkatesh B
S (HD, Periyapatna) 3.

5,000 Metre: Uday Gowda (ED, T Narsipur) 1, Boregowda (ED, H D Kote) 2, Shivakumar K S (ED, Mysore) 3.

110 Metre Hurdles: Deepak M (ED, Nanjangud) 1, Krishnamurthy M N (ED, Mysore) 2, Arun (ED, Mysore) 3.

4x100 Metre Relay: Ganapathi Jakathi (ED, Mysore), Padmanabha B, Pradeep Kumar P, Deepak M.

Athletics: Women

High Jump: Dhanavathi (HD, Mysore) 1, Pratima (HD, Hunsur) 2, Revathi D K (HD, Nanjangud) 3.

200 Metre: Rashmi C G (SWD, Mysore) 1, Gunavathi  A K (ED, Hunsur) 2, A R Sowbhagya (HD, Mysore) 3.

40 years and above

200 Metre: Pushpa Latha A B (ED, Mysore) 1, Vedavathi (ED, Mysore) 2, Dhanavathi V R (ED, Mysore) 3.

800 Metre: Chandrakala B S (BCM, H D Kote) 1, Sujatha (Water Resources Dept, Mysore) 2, A R Sowbaghya (Forest Department, Mysore) 3.

Long Jump: Mamatha H B, (ED, T Narsipur) 1, Rajani (Govt Press, Mysore) 2, A R Sowbaghya (Forest Department, Mysore) 3.

Shotput: Vedavathi K K (Education Department, Mysore) 1, Rajalakshmi H (ITI Mysore) 2, Kasthuri M S (ED, Mysore) 3.

4x100 Relay Metre: Mysore Taluk 1, Hunsur 2, T Narsipur 3.

Team sports: Men

Kabaddi: Health Department, Mysore, beat Education Department, Mysore by 36-15.
Football: Government Press, Mysore, beat Education Department, Mysore, by 2-0.
Team sports: Women

Throwball: Health Department, Mysore, beat Education Department, Mysore by 25-4

50 Metre Free Style: Prakash M (Govt CPC Polytechnic) 1, Somashekar M B (Women and Child Welfare Dept (WCW)) 2, Vishwasena M B (Sericulture Department (SD)) 3.
50 Metre Breast Stroke: Vishwasena M B (SD) 1, Prakash M (Govt CPC Polytechnic) 2, Jagadish H K (Primary Health Centre) 3.

50 Metre Back Stroke: Malashetty K S (Kannada and Culture Dept) 1, Vishwasena M B (SD) 2, Somashekar M B (WCW) 3.

50 Metre Butterfly: Vishwasena M B (SD) 1, Malashetty K S (Kannada and Culture Dept) 2, M (Govt CPC Polytechnic) 3.

100 Metre Free Style: Dayananda M S (CADA) 1, J Prakash (Karnataka Lokayukta) 2, Ashok (Water Resources Dept) 3.

200 Metre Free Style: J Prakash (Karnataka Lokayukta) 1, Dayananda M S (CADA)2, Ashok (Water Resources Dept) 3.

400 Metre Free Style: Dayananda M S (CADA) 1, Gopalswamy S (Animal Husbandry, Devalapura) 2, Ramashetty (HD, K R Nagar) 3.

Women: 40 years and above

Vanitha K T, Government First Grade College, Nanjangud, bagged first place in 50 Metre Free Style, 50 Metre Breast Stroke, 50 Metre Back Stroke.

Stella Mary, Government High School, Maadapura, T Narsipur Taluk, bagged first place in 50 Free Style, 50 Metre Breast Stroke and 50 Metre Back Stroke.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox