Prasanth, Murali in title clash

Prasanth, Murali in title clash

Prasanth made a short work of former Davis Cupper and wild card Vijay Kannan 6-1, 6-4 while Murali  overcame mid-game slump to register hard-fought 6-4, 4-6, 7-6 (5) win over former National champion Vinod Sridhar.

One of Prasanth and Murali is sure to complete a memorable double as the top-seeded duo also bagged the doubles title beating Asditya Tewari and Kunal Anand, seventh seeds, 6-1, 6-3.

In the women’s section Isha Lakhani continued her impressive comeback quelling a fighting Sharon Paul 7-6 (7-3), 6-2. Isha will now take on wild card Parija Maloo who ended the dream run of another wild card entrant Seelulee Upadhyaya of Orissa in a rather one-sided 6-2, 6-1 affair. Parija stood in line for a double as the TN girl paired up with Sagar Manjanna to clinch the mixed double crown with a 6-2, 6-2 defeat of Elwin Antony and Sharon Paul.

Results (men’s singles semifinals, prefix denotes seeding): 1-Vijay Sundar Prasanth (TN) bt Vijay Kannan (TN) 6-1, 6-4; 2-Mithun Murali (TN) bt 7-Vinod Sridhar (TN) 6-4, 4-6, 7-6 (5). Doubles final: 1-Mithun Murali/ Vijay Sundar Prasanth bt 4-Aaditya Tewari/ Kunal  Anand 6-1, 6-3.

Women’s singles semifinals: Isha Lakhani (Kar) bt Sharon Paul (TN) 7-6 (3), 6-2; Parija Maloo (Mah) bt Seelulee Upadhya (Ori) 6-2, 6-1.

Mixed doubles final: Parija Maloo/Sagar Manjanna bt Elwin Antony/ Sharon Paul 6-2, 6-2.