Laureus honour for Nadal

Laureus honour for Nadal

The 2010 World Cup-winning Spanish football team bagged the Laureus Team of the Year award at the annual function held in Abu Dhabi on Monday.

The Spanish football team was named the Laureus World Team of the Year for winning the 2010 World Cup for the first time ever.

As expected, Spanish Matador and world number one Rafael Nadal, who had won the Laureus Breakthrough Award back in 2006, took home the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year honour for his remarkable run -- titles at Roland Garros, Wimbledon and the US Open -- last year.

American surfer Kelly Slater was presented with the Laureus Action Sports Award for the third time, after winning a record tenth World Surfing Championship. Lindsey Vonn made it an American double by winning the Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year Award after a stellar year, during which she secured her third straight skiing World Cup and the Olympic Downhill gold medal.

Germany, too, soon joined the American and Spanish party wagon with two awards to their sportspersons. Brilliant young golfer Martin Kaymer clinched the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year Award after winning the US PGA Championship and finishing as No 1 golfer in Europe, while visually impaired skier and biathlete Verena Bentele won the Laureus Disability Award after capturing five gold medals in the Winter Olympics in Vancouver.

The Laureus World Comeback of the Year Award went to Italy’s seven-time motor cycle world champion Valentino Rossi, who returned to the track just 41 days after breaking his leg.

French football legend Zinedine Zidane received the Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award and the Laureus Spirit of Sport Award was presented to the European Ryder Cup Team.

Laureus awardees: World Sportsman of the Year: Rafael Nadal.
World Sportswoman of the Year: Lindsey Vonn.
World Team of the Year: Spain World Cup Team.
World Breakthrough of the Year: Martin Kaymer.
World Comeback of the Year: Valentino Rossi.
World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Verena Bentele.
World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Kelly Slater.
Lifetime Achievement Award: Zinedine Zidane.
Spirit of Sport Award: European Ryder Cup Team. Sport for Good Award: May El-Khalil.