Jyothi captures 100M title

Jyothi captures 100M title

Battling sinusitis and chilly weather, the defending champion showed good heart and resolve, dishing out a command performance to capture the 100M gold in 11.84 seconds on the second day of the athletics competition at the Birsa Munda Athletics stadium.

Off to a blistering start from lane three, Jyothi raced ahead of her competitors, stretching it to an arm’s length over second-placed Mounika Gaddam of Andhra Pradesh at halfway mark.

Just when everyone thought it would appear all too easy for Jyothi, Gaddam stepped on the accelerator, cutting the lead considerably and sending signals of a late coup.
But, having tasted numerous successes at various National meets, the experienced Jyothi summed up her energy before cutting past the finish line ahead of Mounika for the title. Mounika took silver in 11.87 while Priyanka of Uttar Pradesh took home the bronze, clocking 11.98.

“I am happy to have won, considering the conditions,” said a delighted Jyothi in reference to the cold weather and strong winds.

“I knew fast timings were impossible and I just focused on winning. To have done it for myself and the Sate is extremely satisfying,” added Jyothi, who has set her sights on qualifying for the London Olympics.

Services Sameer Mon emerged as the fastest man in an intensely contested 100M final. With the likes of joint National Record holder Abdul Najeeb Qureshi and the young and upcoming Sujith Kuttan amongst the competitors, Sameer had a challenge in his hands on his favourite track that has seen him win thrice in the 100M dash.

Having made a decent start but slightly behind, Sameer joined Qureshi and Sujith with 50 metres to go before letting it rip in the final stage to grab the gold. Sameer clocked 10.55 seconds, Qureshi came in second with a timing of 10.62 while Sujith finished third at 10.65.

Results: 100M: Shameer Mon (Services) 10.55 seconds, 1; Abdul Najeeb Qureshi (Andhra Pradesh) 10.62, 2; Sujith Kuttan (Kerala) 10.65, 3. 400M: Kunjumohammed (Services) 47.68, 1; Bibin Mathew (Jharkhand) 47.86, 2; Ajay (Haryana) 47.94, 3.
Pole vault: Bimin KP (Kerala) 4.90M, 1; Sunder Singh (Haryana) 4.80, 2; Bineesh Jacob (Kerala) 4.80, 3.
20km walk: Gurmit Singh (Jharkhand) 1:23.26 (New Meet Record – Old: 1:29.39, Gurdev Singh) 1; Mani Ram Patel (MP) 1:24.51, 2; Somendro Singh (Services) 1:27.11, 3.
Women: 100M: HM Jyothi (Karnataka) 11.84s, 1; Mounika Gaddam (Andhra Pradesh) 11.87, 2; Priyanka (Uttar Pradesh) 11.98, 3.
400M: Sini Jose (Kerala) 53.76, 1; Arya (Kerala) 54.21, 2; K Mrudula (Andhra Pradesh) 54.69.
Javelin throw: Suman Devi (Uttar Pradesh) 51.84, 1; Saraswathi Sundaram (Tamil Nadu) 51.69, 2; Sanjo Devi (Himachal Pradesh) 48.52, 3.
Shot put: P Udaya Lakshmi (Andhra Pradesh) 14.36M, 1; Neelam (Haryana) 13.77, 2; Steffi Cardoza (Goa) 13.69, 3.