23 arrested for taking 'wrong route'

The protesters made a vain bid to march violating order

Former MLA M K Somashekar, Kannada Sahitya Parishat, District Unit President Maddikere Gopal, Kannada activist Thayur Vittalamurthy, Mysore Kannada Vedike President S Balakrishna, Karnataka State Backward Classes Awareness Forum President K S Shivaramu, Mysore District Youth Congress (Rural) unit President Dr B J Vijaykumar, Umadevi,
B S Geetha Ganesh were prominent among those arrested by Devaraja Police.

According to the police, they ignored the warning and tried to restrain the authorities, taking out a rally from K R Circle to the office of Police Commissioner, forcing the cops to arrest.


They have been charged under various sections of IPC- 353 (for preventing cops from delivering the duty) 143 and 147 (rioting), 188 (defying the prohibitory orders) and R/W 149 (intentionally breaking the law).

They were later produced before the Court of Fifth Additional Civil Judge (Junior Division) and JMFC Mysore. The Judge M S Harini remanded them to one day judicial custody.


The office of Police Commissioner had fixed a new protest route from Gandhi Square to DC’s office effected from March 1, to avoid the traffic congestion at  K R Cirlce, that had of late become a hub of protest.

However, several organisations including of those arrested, had opposed the order tooth and nail terming it ‘unilateral’.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0