BDA allots sites to CM's son, ten others

Beneficiaries include BJP legislator, MPs

BDA allots sites to CM's son,  ten others

The Bangalore Development Authority (BDA) on Saturday allotted sites to seven Bharatiya Janata Party MPs, including Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa’s son B Y Raghavendra, one party MLA and two former MLAs under the G category.

On Saturday evening, the BDA issued its own order, sanctioning 11 sites, 10 of them to BJP leaders and one to a social activist. While the sites allotted to the BJP leaders measure 50’ X 80’, the one meant for the social activist is of 60’ X 40’ dimension. The following are the beneficiaries: B Y Raghavendra (MP-Shimoga), Janardhan Swamy (MP-Chitradugra),  Ramesh Katti (MP-Chikkodi), S Fakirappa (MP-Raichur), Shivaramagouda (MP- Koppal),  G Shantha (MP-Bellary), Nalin Kumat Katil (MP-South Canara), Satish Reddy (MLA-Bommanahalli), Rukmaiah Pujary and Jayaram Shetty, both former MLAs, and P V Krishna Bhat, a social activist.

The order issued in April had triggered a controversy as thousands of Bangaloreans are still awaiting allotment letters for BDA sites.

The Government Order (245:08-09) was passed to allot the sites under the ‘G’ category.  BJP men topped the list with 58 names — 53 MLAs and five MLCs, including three independents. Also included in the list were eight Congressmen, including two MLCs.
Of the 66 beneficiaries, 12 politicians belonged to the Scheduled Caste. Three are  from the Scheduled Tribes.

During 2003-04, the BDA had incurred the wrath of the people while allotting sites in the Arkavathi Layout. Although  2.5 lakh applications were received for this project, and nearly 20,000 shortlisted, only 2,000 people got allotment letters.  Politicians and chief minister’s close associates — gunmen and people who work at the chief minister’s residence and office — regularly manage to get stray sites allotted.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0