BJP list for bypolls ready

BJP list for bypolls ready

The party has convened a meeting of its State Election Committee on Wednesday to arrive at a final decision. Yogeshwar, who represented Channapatna thrice, joined the BJP after resigning as MLA and quitting the Congress in 2009. But he failed to get re-elected in the bypoll.

M C Ashwath, who was elected that time, too crossed over to the BJP from the JD(S) recently, leading to one more byelection.

According to sources, JD(S) is giving a serious thought about fielding its State unit president H D Kumaraswamy from Channapatna.

Former MP Tejaswini Ramesh  is one of the aspirants from the Congress. The party is also mulling over fielding a Muslim candidate, as Muslim voters are a determining factor in the constituency.

For Jagalur seat, both the Congress and the JD(S) are reportedly trying to persuade cine actor Sudeep to contest. Senior leader V S Ugrappa is said to be one of the aspirants for the Congress ticket.

Sheshu and Mangamma Muniswamy are the aspirants for the JD(S) ticket for the Bangarpet constituency.