Cong list for TN out: Majority of sitting MLAs retained

Former Union Minister and late MGR’s right-hand man S Thirunavukarasu, Tamil Nadu Congress Committee chief K V Thangkabalu’s wife Jayanthi, AICC secretary and Dalit leader K Jayakumar and S Peter Alphonse are some of the prominent members from the parent organisation who figure in the list. Candidates for 3 other constituencies will be announced later.

Actor S V Sekar, who was elected from Mylapore, an AIADMK seat, and joined the Congress recently, has not got ticket.

Jothi Mani, Youth Congress General Secretary and Rahul Gandhi’s close aide, and Tamil Nadu Youth Congress chief M Yuvraj are some of the young faces in the list which has dropped only a couple of sitting MLAs. Mahendran, a Youth Congress National Secretary, will seek the mandate from Peravurani.

While Mani will contest from Karur, Yuvaraj will enter the fray from Erode West constituency which the party got after much persuasion from DMK whose strongman N K K P Raja, a former minister, shifted to a near-by seat.

Sources said these constituencies were specifically sought from DMK so that the Youth Congress leaders can be accommodated. Rahul Gandhi was very particular that there should be a considerable representation from the Youth wing in the list, the sources said.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0