Minister asks UoM to set up panel for centenary celebrations

Minister asks UoM to set up panel for centenary celebrations

“It is only four years left for the university to commemorate centenary of its existence. The committee comprising of the university authorities and the officials of higher education department can lay out a plan for a befitting celebration of the centenary year,” said the Minister, in his address after presenting the doctoral degrees to PhD students of various streams at Crawford Hall here.

Quoting recent census report, the Higher Education Minister said that only 12-13 per cent of the youth of the state are enrolled for the higher education in universities and colleges. The vast number of rural masses are left behind. Hence, the universities should strive for an inclusive education policy and reach out to the youth in rural areas. “The globalisation and liberalisation has opened immense opportunities for the youth of the country. Education and skill development training can help secure the future of youth and the country. The 12-13 per cent enrollment in higher education do not augur well for a state which has made tremendous advancements in the field of science and technology, astronomy and aeronautics and IT and BT sectors,” he said.

Acharya said the state government aimed to push enrollment to atleast 16 per cent by 2015 and achieve a target of 20 per cent by 2030. There are about 30 universities and 2,300 colleges, including those having autonomy and deemed universities across state.

The state government has plans to triple the investment in education sector, including primary education in next five years. The youth of the country can be empowered only through education and skilled training, the Minister added.

Acharya presented PhD awards to 357 candidates who completed their thesis. The PhD awards were presented as part of the extended 91st annual convocation of the University of Mysore. The convocation was extened by one more day because of the big list of PhD awardees. Vice-Chancellor Prof V G Talawar, Registrar (evaluation) Ramu, Director of College Development committee N Chandra Kumar and others were present.