Election for Malur TP on July 29

Election for Malur TP on July 29

President post reserved for women, vice-president for general category

There is competition among the members of the ruling JD(S) for the post of president and vice-president post and it is almost certain that the member supported by the former legislator A Nagaraju will be elected as president.

President post is reserved for general women and vice-president for general category. The previous term ended in April after which the government announced reservation and directed the officials concerned, to fix the date for the election. But the elections were cancelled as one of the Srinivaspur taluk panchayat member had moved to court questioning the reservation. Returning officers have announced the  date for elections, as the court has lifted the stay order on the president and vice-president post reservation.

Out of the 18 members 10 are from Congress, 7 from BJP and is an independent member.

A Nagaraju of Congress joined JD(S) along with other 9 members, as Congress had denied him ticket for the Lok Sabha elections. Meanwhile 4 from BJP also joined JD(S) as a result of which the TP power passed on to JD(S). Jayamma and S Vijay Kumar were the president and vice-president for the last term.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)