BAI announces Indian team for Sudirman Cup

BAI announces Indian team for Sudirman Cup

Besides Saina, who ended runner-up in the Malaysian Open Grand Prix recently, Pune shuttler Aditi Mutatkar will be the other women's singles player from India, while Arvind Bhat will provide the other choice in men's singles category.

Experienced pair of Sanave Thomas and Rupesh Kumar will spearhead the challenge in men's doubles, while young combo of Arun Vishnu and Akshay Dewalkar will provide the back up.

Commonwealth Games gold medallist pair of Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponappa will don the national colours in women's doubles.

Veteran doubles player V Diju, who has undergone a minor back injury last month, will be missed badly and in his absence young mixed doubles pair of Pranav Chopra and Prajakta Sawant will share the responsibility.

Aparna Balan and Arun Vishnu will be the other option.National coach Pullela Gopichand and experienced Bhaskar Babu will accompany the team along with OD Sharma as the Chief-de-mission cum Manager of the Indian team.

The Indian team, which opens its campaign against Chinese Taipei in the Group C on Sunday, will reach Quingdao tomorrow.

In the last edition in 2009, India had trounced Bulgaria 3-0 in a Group 3 play-off to secure a promotion to Group 2 for the first time since the Sudirman Cup tournament started in 1989