Suspended MLAs defy high command summons

They also questioned the grounds on which they were suspended. “The decision has been taken and we are not going to appear before the disciplinary committee. None of us (seven suspended legislators) will go," suspended Leader of BJP Legislative Party Chaman Lal Gupta said.

"What can we do there? What will we go there for? They have called all 11 MLAs, but out of them seven of us have been declared culprits and four have been exonerated -- but on what basis," he asked.

"We have been repeatedly asking the party leadership on what basis we have labelled as culprits. Is there any document or proof with them? But they have no answers," he said.
This is the second time the BJP legislators have defied the order of the party high command.  Last month, they went to Speaker of the Legislative Assembly M A Lone and withdrew in writing their resignation letters, which they had submitted to party chief Nitin Gadkari soon after the cross-voting incident during the Legislative Council polls on April 13.Seven of the 11 BJP MLAs voted in favour of NC and Congress candidates during the LC polls and only four votes were polled in the favour of the party's official candidate Ranjit Singh.

Besides Gupta, the other MLAs who defied the summons are Baldev Raj Sharma (Reasi), Jadish Raj Sapolia (Basholi), Bharat Bhushan (Domana), Master Lal Chand (Bani), Durga Dass (Hiranagar) and Garu Ram (R S Pura).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)