TN continues bureaucratic shake-up, Umashankar kept waiting

TN continues bureaucratic shake-up, Umashankar kept waiting

Principal Secretary for Information Technology, PWC Davidar, was transferred as Principal Secretary/Managing Director, Tamil Nadu Salt Corporation Limited, replacing M Kutralingam.

Davidar will be replaced by Santhosh Babu, Managing Director, Electronics Corporation of Tamil Nadu (ELCOT), and CEO (in-charge), e-Governance, a state government release here said.

Further, Principal Secretary, Cooperation, Food and Consumer Protection, Swaran Singh, has been made Chairman and Managing Director of Tamil Nadu Electricity Board (TNEB).

He will also function as CMD, Tamil Nadu Generation and Distribution Company (TANGEDCO) and Chairman, Tamil Nadu Transmission Corporation Ltd (TANTRANSCO), it said.

Umashankar, an officer who had blown the lid off the Burial Ground shelters scam in the 1991-96 AIADMK government and suspended last year during the DMK rule for providing "a false community certificate to claim the scheduled caste quota during his civil services selection", has been put on the waiting list.

Besides Umashankar, 13 other officials have been put on the waiting list, and orders regarding their posting "will be issued seperately", the release said.

In other changes, former Home Secretary K Gnanadesikan is the new Commissioner for Revenue Administration while Health Secretary in the previous DMK regime, V K Subburaj, has been appointed Vice-Chairman of Science City. Industries Secretary Rajeev Ranjan is the new Commissioner of Sugar.

The services of K Ganesan, Higer Education Secretary, were placed at the disposal of Tamil Nadu Urban Finance and Infrastructure Development Corporation, it said.