Nivethita clinches crown

Boxing Inter-school championship

R Revathy (left) of Eastwood School battles school-mate Nivethita in Bangalore on Tuesday. DH photo

Nivethita and Revathy opened the bout by employing the open stance ploy, making themselves vulnerable. While Nivethita started round one with good promise, Revathy was quick to bounce back to settle scores.

The strategy didn’t change in round two either and punches were traded in short bursts. The 16-year-old pugilists, relatively short in stature, went all out in the final round and Nivethita held her nerve to emerge victorious.

DH News Service

Results: Boys: (all semifinals): E-3: Hemanth Kumar (AP) bt Abey Singh (Meerut); D-4: Vigneshwaran (TN) bt Bhaseer Ahmed (TN); D-8: Arjun Singh (ASI, Pune) bt Raghvendra (Meerut); C-8: Kranthi (AP) bt Ankur (ASI, Pune); C-10: Amit Yadav (Meerut) bt Satish Kumar (AP); C-11: Dayanand Singh (ASI, Pune) bt S Sarathiswar (TN); B-10: Manoj Kumar (ASI, Pune) bt Prem Kumar (TN); B-11: K Harish (AP) bt Parthiban (TN); B-16: Satish Kumar (TN) bt Ranjith (TN); A-10: P Mahesh (TN) bt Kalaiyarsan (TN); A-15: Jaganathan (TN) bt V Sagar (AP); A-15: Anshumalik (ASI, Pune) bt Dilip Yadav (Eastwood School, Bangalore); A-12: Jitender (ASI, Pune) bt V Vivek (EWS, Bangalore); B-10: K Sagar (AP) bt Imran Khan (Meerut).

Girls (all finals): A-17: Nivethita (EWS, Bangalore) bt R Revathy (EWS, Bangalore); D-8: B Jaya Pradhan (TN) bt Priyadarshini (EWS, Bangalore); E-6: S Nivetha (TN) bt Sushma Shree (EWS, Bangalore); B-7: S Bhuneswari (TN) bt Monisha (EWS, Bangalore).

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0