108 file papers for five Assembly segments

108 file papers for five Assembly segments


All major parties of the BJP, the Congress and the JD(S) have fielded candidates in all five seats, and triangular fight is expected in almost all constituencies. The JD(S) has fielded K Raju from Ramanagar, while the BJP has fielded Narayana Gowda. Both parties decided on their candidates in the last minute.

Govindrajnagar constituency has the highest number of 38 candidates in the fray, including V Somanna (BJP), Priya Krishna (Congress) and A Nagendra Prasad (JD-S). There are 34 independent candidates in the constituency. In Kollegal, 22 candidates have filed nomination papers, 11 in Chittapur, 20 in Ramanagar and 17 in Channapatna.

Priya Krishna and Nagendra Prasad filed their nomination papers on Wednesday. August 1 is the last date for withdrawal of nomination papers. Meanwhile, the poll observers have arrived for all constituencies, except Govindrajnagar.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)