Take up challenges, VTU VC tells graduates

Take up challenges, VTU VC tells graduates

A student receiving degree from VTU Vice-Chancellor Dr Maheshappa at graduation day of NMAM Institute of Technology at Nitte on Saturday.

Delivering the convocation address at Graduation Day ceremony of NMAM Institute of Technology here on Saturday, he called upon students to develop the sense of belongingness and great pride of being the citizens of this country. Students should take up challenges in their professional life and contribute towards the development of world class products and services in the country. Progress of the country is directly linked upon to the youths of this country, he added.

He said strong team work is essential for any initiative to succeed. It is the clarity of the thoughts and beliefs that will enable one to take right decisions at the right time.  

Source of effective leadership is the ability to connect to the greatest talents with best and deepest values. This will enable one to inspire the people around. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm and there is no substitute for hard work, he said and added career orientation is important but it should not be at the cost of one’s family and personal life. Stating that students’ education, training and core competence must be put in to the best of use, he said the emerging global scenario and the internet have shrunk the world to a global village.  Students should offer value added services and re-engineer themselves to suit the requirements of the organisation. We are living in an era of globalisation and liberalisation. There are bigger opportunities ahead for the outgoing students, he added.

Degrees were awarded to BE, M Tech and MCA students on the occasion. Gold medals were given away to Prakrithi D K – M Tech (Digital Electronics and Communication), Shalini PR- M Tech (Computer Science and Engineering), Prema V - M.Tech (Energy systems), Roilet Sharlen Norohna – MCA, Shashikumar  Rao- BE (Civil Engineering), Abhishek A Rao - BE (Mechanical Engineering), Bhuvana Baliga - BE (Electrical & Electronics Engineering), Vikas Kumar B - BE (Electronics & Communication Engineering), Namratha M - BE (Computer Science and Engineering), Heena Kausar - BE (Information Science and Engineering), Ashwini Pai K - BE (Biotechnology)

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)