Eight State players find place among probables

Eight State players find place among probables

Goalkeeper Bharat Chetri, defender and drag-flick specialist VR Raghunath, midfielders Arjun Halappa and Vikramkanth, and forwards SV Sunil, Amar Aiyamma, Nithin Thimmaiah and Pradhan Somanna made the cut from the original number of 90.

The national camp took off under new coach Michael Nobbs on July 3 while HI selectors AB Subbaiah, BP Govinda, Col Balbir Singh and Thoiba Singh conducted a three-day selection process from July 13 before announcing the shortlist.

The shortlist is further expected to be pruned to 18 by the beginning of next month at the conclusion of the first phase of the camp towards the end of this month. The second phase is scheduled to kick off on August 8. The 18 campers will continue to train at SAI until August 28 before flying to Ordos, China for the inaugural Asian Champions Trophy from September 3-12.

Newly-appointed coach Nobbs left for Australia on Saturday and is expected to rejoin the camp by the end of the month, provided he procures his work visa. In his absence, SS Grewal will oversee the camp.

The shortlist: Goalkeepers: Bharat Chetri, Adrian D'Souza, PR Sreejesh, Kamaldeep Singh.

Defenders: Rupinder Pal Singh, Sandeep Singh, William Xalxo, VR Raghunath, Harpreet Singh, Gurjinder Singh, Diwakar Ram.

Midfielders: Sardar Singh, Gurbaj Singh, Vikram Pillay, Arjun Halappa, Vikas Sharma, Vikramkanth, Bharat Chikara, Danish Mujtaba, Prabodh Tirkey, Vikas Pillay, Birender Lakra Jr,  Ravi Pal, Ignace Tirkey, Manjit Kullu, Kothajit, Manpreet Singh, Ajitesh Roy.

Forwards: Rajpal Singh, SV Sunil, Tushar Khandker, Amar Aiyamma, Mandip Antil, Shivendra Singh, Bikas Toppo, Sarvanjit Singh, Roshan Minz, Nithin Thimmaiah, Prabhdeep Singh, Banmali Xess, Akashdeep Singh, Gurvinder Singh Chandi, Pradhan Somanna, Prabhjot Singh, Yuvraj Valmiki, Dharamvir Singh, Chinglinsana, Ramandeep Singh.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)