Indian footballers face uphill task against UAE

Indian footballers face uphill task against UAE

Gearing up India’s Sunil Chhetri at a training session on the eve of their World Cup qualifier against UAE on Thursday.

India had beaten Qatar in an international friendly 2-1 in Doha just before the World Cup qualifiers second round, raising hopes of a strong performance against the UAE in their away leg on July 23 at Al Ain. But, unfortunately, that was not to be. To be fair to Armando Coalco’s boys, they were unlucky as their two players were given marching orders by the 24th minute and they conceded just one goal in 75 minutes with nine men on the field.

A candid Colaco admitted it would now be tough even on home conditions though he is not giving up hopes. “After the 0-3 loss it is no doubt a difficult situation for us. But you never know in football and we will go for a win tomorrow,” Colaco said.

Number one goalkeeper Subrata Paul and central defender Debabrata Roy were shown red card by a Qatari referee in the away leg, forcing India to make changes in the starting line-up.

Karanjit Singh, who did well after Paul’s dismissal in the 24th minute at Al Ain, will start under the bar behind Gouramangi Singh, Raju Gaikwad, Samir Naik and Syed Rahim Nabi who will man the left back area, replacing Debabrata Roy.

Captain Climax Lawrence and Mehtab Hossain will start at the center as in the first match, and Steven Dias at the right flank. Clifford Miranda will be the new man at left flank while Sunil Chhetri and Jeje Lalpekhlua will play upfront in Colaco’s 4-4-2 formation.
Veteran goalkeeper Sandip Nandy and Harmanjot Khabra have been named as replacements for Paul and Debabrata, but they will not start. UAE, on the other hand, had come with almost the same team that played at Al Ain, except star striker Ismail Mattar.

The squad: Karanjit Singh, Gourama­ngi Singh, Raju Gaikwad, Samir Naik, Syed Rahim Nabi, Climax Lawrence, Mehtab Hossain, Steven Dias, Clifford Miranda, Sunil Chhetri, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sandip Nandy, Harmanjhot Khabra, Laxmikant Kattimani, Lalrindika Ralte, Sushil Kumar, Mahesh Gawli, Robert Lalthlamuana, Jewel Raja, Lal Kamal Bhowmick, Baljit Sahni, Valeriano Rebello, Rowlinson Rodrigues.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)